Rectory Lane, Watton-At-Stone, Hertfordshire, SG14 3SG

01920 830233

Watton-at-Stone Primary and Nursery School

We will all be the best that we can be.

Welcome to our new site


Welcome to the section of the website where you can find out more about the Governors and the work that they do.

Governors have an important role which is to ensure high standards of achievement for all children and young people in the school by:

  • Setting the school's vision, ethos and strategic direction.
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils.
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Categories of Governor:

  • Local Education Authority (LEA) Governor - nominated by Hertfordshire County Council
  • Parent Governors - are elected by and from the parents.
  • Staff Governors - elected by and from the staff.
  • Co-opted Governors - people appointed by the Governing Body who have particular experience or skills which can contribute to the effectiveness of the governing body.
  • Ex-officio Governors - Governors by virtue of their office, ie the Headteacher.

Current members of the Governing Body:

You will find below a list of current and recent past members of the Governing Body. As well as their name you will see details of their membership including date of their appointment. The term of office for a governor is 4 years

Click on the links below to find out more about each of our current governors


Charles Clark (Co-opted) - Chair of Governors from 29.05.2015 - 28.05.19

Robin Baynham (Co-opted) from 29.05.2015 - 28.05.19

Wilf Emsley (LEA) from 29.05.2015 - 28.05.19

Emer Green (Co-opted) from 29.05.2015 - 28.05.19

Nicola Roberts (Staff) from 29.05.2015 - 28.05.19

Rev Jenny Gray (Co-opted) from 29.05.2015 - 28.05.19

Bethan Clemence (Co-opted) - Vice Chair of Governors from 01.03.2016 - 28.02.2020

Colin Cox (Parent) from 06.05.2016 - 05.05.2020

Liz Aston (Parent) from 06.05.2016 - 05.05.2020

Victoria Steward (Staff) Resigned

Anthea Thornton (Co-opted) Resigned

Anthony Waller (Co-opted) - Resigned


Structure and Committees

The overarching work of the governors is conducted by meetings of the full Governing Body which are held at least once each term. In addition to the full Governing Body, the work of the Governing body is shared between three committees, each with a specific responsibility;

Resources: which monitors how the school spends its money and how it looks after the school, pre-school and Children Centres premises. This committee is also responsible for personnel matters.

The current membership of the Resources committee is:

Robin Baynham

Charles Clark

Colin Cox

Emer Green

Zoe Hussain


Standards: which takes responsibility for the pupils' attainment, progress and the content of the curriculum.

Current members of the Standards Committee are:

Anthea Thornton (Chair)
Wilf Emsley
Zoe Hussain
Nicola Roberts

Children's Centre: the school is the lead agency for the Hertford and Valleys Children Centres which comprises Beane Valley Children's Centre, Selections Children's Centre (based at Sele School) and Churchfields Children's Centre (based at Abel Smith school). This committee oversees the work of all three which are managed as a single entity.

Current members of the Children's Centre Committee are:

Wilf Emsley (Chair)
Emer Green
Zoe Hussain
Victoria Steward
Anthea Thornton


In addition to the above, there are three further committees which meet as and when the need arises; Headteachers Performance, Discipline and Complaints. All committees report back to the main Governing body. The committees meet at least twice each term so every governor has to invest a great deal of time to fulfil their responsibilities effectively.


Link Governors

Link Governors are those who have been assigned to a specific focus of school life. There are Link Governors assigned to areas of the curriculum; Literacy, Numeracy, Science, Pupil Premium and Special Educational Needs. There is also a Link Governor for the Early Years stage which includes the Pre-School based within the Children's Centre building.

The role of a Link Governor is:

  • to take an interest in and gain more detailed knowledge of their are of responsibility
  • to know what is contained in the School Plan for their area
  • to be involved in the review of the School Plan for their area and to be part of the planning  process
  • to help the governing body in its critical friend role by asking questions about progress and challenging appropriately about attainment in their area
  • to report back at agreed intervals either to the appropriate committee or the full governing body
  • to work in full partnership with the headteacher and the school leadership team.


Other statutory information about the Governors

Relevant and pecuniary interests

Victoria Steward is employed at the school.

Emer Green is employed at the school.

Nicola Roberts is employed at the school.

Charles Clark is a governor of The Field Federation of Schools based in Edmonton, London.

Attendance at Meetings.


 Full Governing Body Meeting Attendees -table for website.pdfDownload
Showing 1-1 of 1